## UNIVERSITY COUNCIL AS AT 14 JUNE 2010

Rector and Vice-Chancellor

Prof HR Botman BA, LicTheol, MTh, DTh (UWC) † § ð

**Vice-Rector** (Community Interaction and Personnel)

Prof JF Smith MA, SED, DLitt (UWC) †

**Vice-Rector** (Teaching)

Prof M Fourie BA, MEd, PhD, HED (UOFS)

**Vice-Rector** (Research)

Prof A van Zyl MSc (Eng), PhD (Eng) (Cape Town)

Elected by the permanent academic staff

(non-Senate members)

Mr le Roux Burrows MComm (UOVS)

Elected by the permanent non-academic staff

Ms JEWiese BA (UOFS), BAHons, SED (Stell)

Elected by the Institutional Forum

Dr le R van der Westhuizen MA, DPhil (Stell)

Appointed by the Minister of Education

Vacant

Ms TS Lingela BA (Fort Hare), BEd (Rhodes), MEd (UDW, USA)

Dr GS van Niekerk BCommHons, BB and AHons (Stell), MA (North-Western, USA), AMP (Harvard, USA), DPhil hc (Unitra) (Vice-Chair)  $\dagger \ddagger \S \ \eth$ 

Prof CVilla-Vicencio BAHons (Natal), STM (Yale, USA), PhD (Drew, USA)

Elected by the Convocation

**Dr JP Bekker** BA Law, BAHons (Stell), LLB (Witw), MBA (Columbia, USA), DComm hc (Stell)

Prof WAM Carstens BA, BAHons, MA, DLitt (Stell)

**Dr GC du Toit** MB, ChB (Stell), FCOG (SA), MMed (Stell), Subspecialist Gynaecological Oncology (HPCSA)

 $\textbf{Adv JC Heunis} \ \textit{BA Law, LLB (Stell), LLM, LLD (RAU), SC}$ 

**Dr R Kadalie** BBibl (UWC), BAHons Anthropology (UWC), MA (ISS, the Hague, the Netherlands), DPhil hc (Uppsala, Sweden), DLitt hc (UWC), DPhil hc (Stell)

**Dr DA Scholtz** MTh (Stell), MDiv (Pret), Drs Phil (Leiden, the Netherlands), DTh (Stell), PhD (PU for CHE)

Elected by Senate

Prof NN Koopman BA, MTh, DTh (UWC)

Prof GF Lubbe BA, LLB (Stell), LLM (Yale)

Prof WL van der Merwe MB, ChB, MMed (Stell), FFA (SA), MD (Stell) §

Appointed by the Council of the Municipality of Stellenbosch

Mr JIK Gagiano, BAHons (Phil), BAHons (PolSc) (Stell)

Elected by the Donors

Dr PF de V Clüver MB, ChB (Stell), MD (Göttingen, Germany), PhD (Stell), ChM (Cape Town), PhD (Agric) hc (Stell) (Chair) † §

Mr GM Steyn BA Law, LLB (Stell)

Prof PW van der Walt BSc, BEng, MEng, PhD (Stell)

Appointed by the business community of Stellenbosch District

Ms ME Moolman MSc (Stell), Dip Datametrics (Unisa), MBA (Stell) †

Appointed by the Western Cape Provincial Government

Mr DA Piedt BA, BEd (UWC), MEd (Stell)

Appointed by representative bodies of civic society

Mr AP van der Westhuizen BComm, HED, MEd (Stell) §

Mr GPWilliams PTD (Hewat Training College), BA, BEd (UWC)

Elected by the Students' Representative Council

Mr JG Wiese

Mr KS de Villiers

The following non-Council members were appointed by Council as additional members of the Audit and Risk Committee

**Mr JP Bester** BCommHons (Acc) (Stell), BCommHons (ManAcc), BCommHons (Information Systems) (Cape Town), CA (SA) ‡

Mr BHJ Wessels BCompt (Unisa), GIA (SA) ‡

Prof CJ van Schalkwyk BAccHons, MComm (Stell), CA (SA) ‡

The following non-Council members were appointed by Council

Mr GT Ferreira BComm, BB and AHons, MBA (Stell) ð

Mr PG Steyn BComm, LLB (Stell) ð

Mr MH Visser BCommHons (Stell), CA (SA) ð

Prof L van Huyssteen MScAgric, PhD (Agric) (Stell) ð

<sup>†</sup> Members of the Executive Committee of Council

<sup>‡</sup> Members of the Audit and Risk Committee of Council

<sup>§</sup> Members of the Human Resources Committee of Council

ð Members of the Investment Committee of Council